Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any disadvantages to use a merchant account on eBay?

Default Any disadvantages to use a merchant account on eBay?

I have an ebay account but have not signed up with paypal yet as I want to know every detail about them before beginning anything with them so that I am prepared to deal with any shady activity or problems with sales on ebay. I am now realizing that I don't have to use Paypal to sell on ebay.com, I can use a merchant account instead and I am starting to think this may be the way to go. Would there be any disadvantages to use a merchant account instead of paypal when selling on eBay? paypal really sounds too shady to trust but I am new to the game so maybe I am wrong.

You can most certainly use a merchant account rather than using an aggregator like Paypal, and if you are a high volume eBay seller, then you will most likely come out to the better when it comes to fees and such if you use a merchant account provider like Authorize.net over Paypal. However, regular merchant accounts can be more expensive than Paypal of you aren't a high volume seller, so make sure that you look at it from all angles before you choose which one will work better for you.

all my problems I used to have with selling on eBay were paypal related, once I switched to a merchant account, went with merchantinc.com, all problems went away. EBay has no way of accessing my money. No more fraudulent claims or disputes. Paypal is the ONLY disadvantage when it comes to eBay

Stick with your merchant account. Using a paypal account at this point is gong backwards. They are there to protect the sellers and even screw their buyers from time to time. Dealing with disputed charges through a merchant account rather than through a paypal account is going to be much less hassle in the long run.