Thread: Paypal lack of CSR & Lack of resolving Identity Theft issues

Unregistered Guest

Default Paypal lack of CSR & Lack of resolving Identity Theft issues

I opened a Paypal account and had it for several days. Shortly after funds were transferred I received an email stating that 8 years ago I had a Paypal account that was in the negative balance and needed to bring that up to date before I could receive my current funds. Mind you, this is my FIRST time opening a Paypal account.

I called customer service because I have NEVER used Paypal and I realized an ex -spouse opened the account and had used it leaving a negative balance.

The lady was not helpful at all and showed no understanding and just said I have to pay it and contact him to reimburse me. Genius idea!! I'll just call up my ex-husband and ask for him to reimburse me after I just explained to her that he opened many accounts and left me to pay off all the bills which I did not know of until my divorce. Why didn't I think of that genius idea??? I am sure he'll just pay it, with a smile on his face, as we catch upon the good 'ol days over a nice cup of tea together!!!

I told her I would provide her with his contact information and she said that I am responsible and that it is not a case of identity theft, so after I explained to her what identity theft actually is, she proceeded to tell me that I have to prove he in fact established the account.

Then I told her to just take the money and close the account. She proceeds to tell me that I have to call back and authorize the account to be closed. So I have to wait another 48 hours to stop doing business with this organization.

This was MY first experience with Paypal and now my last!!!

What I experienced?
    1) There was no customer service (the lady was pathetically unsympathetic giving ridiculous suggestions and just telling me that it is what it is basically).