Thread: Paypal debt onto NCO financial (canada)

MrRiley Guest

Default Paypal debt onto NCO financial (canada)

Late last year, i sold a gold chain on ebay for $1,300. Money was received, the item was shipped and life was good. A week or two later I checked my paypal account and it was negative $1,300 due to a chargeback. I e-mailed ebay and paypal on everything that happened and they were absolutely no help. So I said forget it, I'll just ignore this negative balance and NEVER go back to neither ebay or paypal. Finally 3-5 months later, I've received a letter from NCO financial saying "This payment is seriously overdue. The total owed shown above must be paid to the office listed below immediately to avoid further collection effort on our behalf." I was worried, since this is my first time dealing with debt collectors. I couldn't pay this even if i wanted to, I'm a college students that's barely making it by. So i got to doing some research on this. I've found many different opinions. Some say ignore it, some say pay it, some say send a letter requesting validation? Some of these posts were a few years old, so I figured I would make my own thread for some up-to-date advice! I would really appreciate it!

Oh btw, I live in Canada if that changes anything

All right this is what I would do;

Tell the debt collector that you never owed the debt and if they continue to try to collect the debt that you do not owe, you will sue them. This is you demanding them to provide verification of the debt.
    Now remember, the collection agency most likely bought this debt from PayPal for pennies on the dollar which then makes it impossible to prove that you owe the debt.

So to sum it up: I would not pay and not worry about it.

MrRiley Guest